Holding Hands

It was fun drawing the cute gay guys.

11 responses to “Holding Hands

  1. thank you so much for your comic. whenever i see it i get a little lift! 🙂

  2. and don’t you foget the power of your visbility – you are both empowering by just being seen together 🙂

  3. I showed this comic to my girlfriend, because I always feel hopeful seeing stuff about happy gay couples. She opened up about her own transgender feelings. I was really surprised, we’ve been together for four years and she never mentioned this. She was incredibly relieved and happy that it wasn’t an issue to me, and that I even think it’s kind of cool.

    She said without me linking to your comic, she may not have dared say anything. Thank you so much. Btw, I also love your drawing style and tone. But I’m mostly just really touched.

    • That’s really great. Wow. I just started drawing it because it’s such a nice way to celebrate the happiness that comes along with being queer, and the difficult moments too, it’s always heartwarming when people relate to different aspects of it, and it’s so wonderful to hear that your partner opened up to you because of it – so thank you!

  4. Jay and I run into the staring issue pretty frequently. Sometimes we overhear people talking about us. My tactic is to turn the situation around by turning the trolls into the trolled.

    If it’s holding hands that triggers their glares, then we kiss. If they say something to their acquaintance, I interject into the conversation and agree/disagree.

    Anyways, I can understand how you feel, and you have my deepest respect. As per usual, I love the comics.

    • Ha, what sort of things do you say to them when you interject?
      (and thanks!)

      • He stutters out “Yeah”s and “OH NO YOU DINNIT!”s and very obscure things like that.

        I must be an old fart, because the stares and the likes don’t phase me. Then again being more or less out and ostracized since grade school I have a thick skin to what others may or may not say…

  5. Pingback: notable queers: an interview with sam orchard « gender panic

Leave a Reply

